current / archive / pictures / guestbook / email / profile

2001-11-21 3:06 p.m.
5 days, no computer. Man, I'm thankful.

My move from my primitive living arrangement at my parents' house to my sophisticated and cultured, current apartment (45 minutes away), did not nullify my family obligations to take a 5 day trip home to be able to be fucking thankful.

This year, I shall praise my lucky stars for the fact that at the same time I enter my childhood territory, I shall simultaneously be entering the year 1964. (By this time, television had been invented, however compact-disk playing stereos and computers had not). I shall be ever-so thankful that I have to appease my father and be home by 7 p.m. every night, because it is impropper for a girl at the age of 20 to be courted by boys. And I shall be extremely greatful of the fact that I am going through all of these major changes, just so my Persian family can pretend to be Caucasian Americans for a day by eating "white people" food and paying homage to America's ancestors for their inhumane treatment of the Indians.

Way to go holidays, for bring out the best in people and turning my next 5 days into an anti-computer bearing, non-vegetarian-friendly, night-life-less, antiquated world.

last / next

diaryland