current / archive / pictures / guestbook / email / profile

2001-12-11 6:40 p.m.
I'm a honey who makin' money!

In my American Culture Studies class, each student was assigned a paper to analyze any song of our choice and comment on how it directly relates to our society and all of the pressures, dilemmas, and hardships we are bestowed upon.

Not one, but two people attending this class wrote their assignments on "Independent Women" by Destiny's Child. I was a bit baffled when I realized that this indeed is the song which contains the lines "All the women who independent, throw yo hands up at me. All the honeys who makin' money, throw yo hands up at me." Although extremely amusing, what's even more humerous than their complete lack of grasping how this song was absolutely inappropriate for the subject matter, is how it must have slipped their minds that the singing group they've been analyzing for its serious and emotional content for the last 3 pages is the same sensational group that previously came out with a song asserting, "You can't pay my bills. Can't pay my telephone bills. Can't pay my automo-bills. If you did then maybe we could chill."

I'm so pleased I did not rid myself of dealing with people like this by attending college.

last / next

diaryland